Irrepressible Anne and Iambic Alliteration

Hah!  How’s that for a title!  

Look at me.  Ridiculously pleased with myself.  As usual.  

Well, I’ve been reading the Anne of Green Gables series (by L.M. Montgomery) as of late.  I’ve read up through Anne’s House of Dreams.  After that the series gets a bit sad…bittersweet, if you will.  Anne isn’t a child with her whole life ahead of her, budding full of rosy dreams and ambitions, anymore.  She’s a woman, with all the rich bloom of experience.  She has tasted life intimately…and death!  And while she still dreams–irrepressible Anne as ever–reality keeps her fairly busy.  She’s more…grounded, if you will.  Anne’s House of Dreams is the definite bridge between girl-Anne and woman-Anne.  So I suppose I’ve already started the bittersweet part.  It makes one want to cry.  😛

Whatever I’ve been reading/watching seeps into my tone.  On that very note, after reading Beowulf, a poem noted for alliteration, I took a test on it.  The peculiar phenomenon is most evident in this sentence I wrote in particular: “He slew nine of the nicors in the tumultuous seas, grappled with Grendel and killed his dam, and his final fight was that with a dragon.”  How’s that for an altogether amusing (haha) examples of my literary…swallow-and-vomit, for lack of better terminology.  There should be a word for it.  (Query: is there one already?)  Well, Carroll and Shakespeare aren’t the only ones who can invent words…any suggestions?

As for the second part of my title…I’ve been working on a poem!  It’s not very good, but I’ve happily used alliteration (I love that device) and rhyme.  (Scheme abcb, for those curious.)  The poem is in iambic tetrameter and you can have little idea how positively excited I am over that.  I think, in part, perhaps, it’s because I know what it’s called and kept it–a definite rhythm.  It’s harder than it looks!  Should I share it?  Ah, I’ll share it.  You know I want to, know I want to, and, heck, it’s my blog.  

It’s allowed to be a bit about me.  

Winds went their way among the pines,
Warm summer in full splendor strong,
Through rustling of the younger leaves,
Walked something like a fairy wan.

No dryad she, though elven-like,
Fair creature of fair water fine:
It was in sooth a water-nymph,
The god Poseidon’s daughter-kind.

From fathoms deep she came to land,
And walked the valley’s forest way;
And sun beat down in brillyant waves,
And wilted she in heat of day.

Fine clothed was she in water silk;
To keep her live its task to be,
And as it dried, so too she died,
Sun wrenching lifeblood: ocean sea.

This foolish maiden of the flood
From hearth and home did take herself
And died. Whene’r you see a pool,
Pray ‘call this tale of water elf!

Cheesy, ridiculous, and somewhat poorly done.  I know.  Any suggestions?  other than “scrap the entire thing,” which, come to think of it, might be advisable

Am I regretting posting it?  Maybe a bit.  Maybe more than a bit.  But if I don’t put it up, then I’ll keep thinking “oh, should I put it up?”  This way I’m just getting it over with.  😛

And I did stay in rhythm.  

Iambic tetrameter nonetheless.

 

Leave a Reply

